Richard J. Shane

  1. Home
  2. Richard J. Shane
Richard Shane portrait, cropped
Professional Experience

Mr. Shane is of Counsel with the firm. He practiced 39 years as a full-time trial attorney. The first four (4) years was an Assistant District Attorney for the Second Judicial District Court in Albuquerque. During his tenure at the District Attorney’s Office, he was assigned to the “Violent Crimes” Division involving many violent crimes including high-profile cases including death penalty cases.

Mr. Shane tried a wide variety of civil cases in State and Federal Court involving: wrongful death; catastrophic injury; medical negligence; wrongful termination; civil rights; bad faith workers’ compensation and employers’ liability.

 Mr. Shane has served as an Adjunct Professor for the University of New Mexico teaching “Trial Practice” and he currently serves as a hearing officer for the New Mexico Disciplinary Board.

Professional Memberships & Associations

New Mexico Bar- Admitted to practice in September, 1980

U.S. Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals- Admitted to practice in September, 1980

U.S. District Court for the District of New Mexico- Admitted to practice in September, 1980

U.S. Supreme Court- Admitted to practice in July, 2011

New Mexico State Bar Association

New Mexico Trial Lawyers Association

New Mexico Defense Lawyers Association

American Trial Lawyers Association

Defense Research Institute

American Bar Association

Albuquerque Bar Association


Northern Illinois College of Law, DeKalb, Illinois; J.D. received January, 1980

 University of Illinois, Chicago, Illinois; B.A. in Criminal Justice and Political Science, received May, 1976; Graduated with High Honors and Distinction in Political Science and as Edmund James Scholar

Professional Achievements

Lawyer of the Year in New Mexico named in “Best Lawyers In America” by peer recognition- 2018

Listed in “Best Lawyers In America” by peer recognition since 1995

Listed in “Southwest Super Lawyers” (civil litigation defense) since 2007

Listed in “Who’s Who in American Law” since 1995